Format: Hardcover

BOOK BABBLE: TO KILL A KINGDOM

Posted June 20, 2018 by Jessica in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

BOOK BABBLE: TO KILL A KINGDOMTo Kill a Kingdom by Alexandra Christo
Published by Feiwel & Friends on March 6, 2018
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 342
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
five-stars

Princess Lira is siren royalty and the most lethal of them all. With the hearts of seventeen princes in her collection, she is revered across the sea. Until a twist of fate forces her to kill one of her own. To punish her daughter, the Sea Queen transforms Lira into the one thing they loathe most—a human. Robbed of her song, Lira has until the winter solstice to deliver Prince Elian’s heart to the Sea Queen or remain a human forever.
The ocean is the only place Prince Elian calls home, even though he is heir to the most powerful kingdom in the world. Hunting sirens is more than an unsavory hobby—it’s his calling. When he rescues a drowning woman in the ocean, she’s more than what she appears. She promises to help him find the key to destroying all of sirenkind for good—But can he trust her? And just how many deals will Elian have to barter to eliminate mankind’s greatest enemy?

One of my most anticipated books of the year and oh gosh it did not disappoint. This book even made it onto my favorites of all time shelf and that’s… that’s a pretty hard shelf to get on. I will say that I am a little sad that this is a standalone novel, but I am pretty content with how everything ended. This is a pretty cool Little Mermaid retelling that I felt was completely unique (I was going to compare it to something else, but this is literally the only Little Mermaid retelling I have read) but still, I loved it!

This book was everything I wanted it to be and more and has now given me one of my favorite characters/pirates/sirens, I don’t even know, I just love these characters so much. Let’s just get into the facts of what I loved about this!

  • Elian: My precious pirate prince! He is a beaut and I live for everything he does. I loved each and every one of his chapters, and his thoughts about his future role as king. I’m not going to give any spoilers here, but I think you would all love him. He reminded me strongly of Nikolai Lantsov to be honest so yeah, tis a little hint.
  • Lira: Ahh my Siren Queen! (No spoilers here, calling her a queen because she is awesome and badass) Half of the book is told in her POV and let me tell you, she is a handful. She is badass, amazing, she is literally everything.
  • The Writing: Was actually really good. I highly preferred listening to it on audiobook though because the narrator was AMAZING. Like I can’t even explain how amazing she is, she literally made the characters come to life. So I highly suggest listening to it. Other than that, the writing was easy to follow and set me on edge (in a good way)
  • Plot: Went in different directions that I thought. I thought it was going one way and then nope! It completely took me by surprise. It’s one of those books where you think it’s going to go one way and then it completely turns.
  • Anyway, short review. Sad it’s a standalone but it’s a good one. If you’re looking for something dark and fun to read, I highly suggest you pick this up!
five-stars
Rating Report
Plot
four-half-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Worldbuilding
four-stars
Cover
five-stars
Overall: four-half-stars

BOOK BABBLE: HEART OF IRON

Posted May 5, 2018 by Jessica in reviews, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

BOOK BABBLE: HEART OF IRONHeart of Iron (Heart of Iron, #1) by Ashley Poston
Published by Balzer + Bray on February 27, 2018
Genres: science fiction, Fantasy
Pages: 480
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
five-stars

Seventeen-year-old Ana is a scoundrel by nurture and an outlaw by nature. Found as a child drifting through space with a sentient android called D09, Ana was saved by a fearsome space captain and the grizzled crew she now calls family. But D09—one of the last remaining illegal Metals—has been glitching, and Ana will stop at nothing to find a way to fix him.
Ana’s desperate effort to save D09 leads her on a quest to steal the coordinates to a lost ship that could offer all the answers. But at the last moment, a spoiled Ironblood boy beats Ana to her prize. He has his own reasons for taking the coordinates, and he doesn’t care what he’ll sacrifice to keep them.
When everything goes wrong, she and the Ironblood end up as fugitives on the run. Now their entire kingdom is after them—and the coordinates—and not everyone wants them captured alive.
What they find in a lost corner of the universe will change all their lives—and unearth dangerous secrets. But when a darkness from Ana’s past returns, she must face an impossible choice: does she protect a kingdom that wants her dead or save the Metal boy she loves?

I want everyone who loves the movie, Anastasia, to read this now. Because wow it was fantastic.

Also, hi, haven’t posted a review in a hot minute and I am super behind but that’s all good. Such is life. I just want to break for a second and bring you a little change on this blog in where I am changing the way I do reviews. My previous method was just… not working out for me, so I guess we can just start calling these book babbles? Because you bet I am going to babble non-stop about this one. In short, my reviews won’t really have a set format, I’m just gonna share my thoughts, okay? Anyway, onto the review!

  • First off, I just wanna say that if you love lost princess stories, mystery, romance, and space then you will most likely love this book because it is like a mashup of all of that.
  • This is a pretty close retelling of Anastasia which I am living for, but with some twists and turns and new elements added to the story which I thought were SO cool. I mean the fact that there are spaceships is so cool.
  • We have Ana and Di who are basically Anastasia (obviously, no spoilers because if you’ve seen the movie you know) and Dimitri who is a robot. (His name is actually D09, but DI for short. Hence Dimitri) These two are the best of friends and probably smitten with each other (ahem ana)
  • Then we have Robb, my gay son. He is sincerely so precious, I love him to pieces and just. I want to hug him. He is a member of a really important family and ends up getting dragged on Ana’s adventure.
  • And now Jax whom I believe is bisexual? Regardless he is another precious bean who just needs all the love and hugs in the world (And I just want him and you know who to be happy)
  • (P.S not spoiler warning on the fact that Robb and Jax belong to the LGBTQIA+ community because sexuality is not a spoiler)
  • And there is an F/F relationship which I really wish was explored more because they are so precious together, but hopefully, they will have more scenes in book two!
  • Anyway, this book is extremely character driven, in my opinion, because the characters are what made the story for me. They are so unique in their own ways such as being headstrong, brave, ambitious and with all of those things, they are also afraid and to me, this book showed that it is okay. My favorite character was D09 and I’m not going to give any spoilers but… if you have read this, then you probably know what I mean.

 

Another thing I really loved was the writing. It was so addicting and easy to read like I just… I need to read everything by Ashley Poston because her writing is so lovable if I am making any sense.

Now I am just going to get into complete babbling because I was obsessed with how close this followed the story that we know (in terms of like the movie) I loved the changes and the new characters the author added to the original story and I just… ahh I can’t wait until the next book! I have SO many questions that need to be answered and I just really want all my favorites (which is like everyone that has a POV) to be safe and happy.

Let me know your thoughts down below if you have read this one!

five-stars
Rating Report
Plot
five-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Worldbuilding
four-half-stars
Cover
four-half-stars
Overall: five-stars

STRANGE THE DREAMER A.K.A THE MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK IN THE WORLD

Posted March 5, 2018 by Jessica in reviews / 0 Comments

STRANGE THE DREAMER A.K.A THE MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK IN THE WORLDStrange the Dreamer (Strange the Dreamer, #1) by Laini Taylor
on March 28th 2017
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 536
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
five-stars

The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he’s been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance or lose his dream forever.
What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving?
The answers await in Weep, but so do more mysteries—including the blue-skinned goddess who appears in Lazlo’s dreams. How did he dream her before he knew she existed? And if all the gods are dead, why does she seem so real?
Welcome to Weep.

Have you ever read a book that just takes you another world? That makes you feel as if you are actually IN the book right there with the characters? That makes you feel the most incredible things… well, for me? That was this book. So here is my attempt to uh, express those feelings to you.

  • The first thing I want to talk about is the writing. The writing in this book is possibly the best that I have ever read, and although I may say this book is the best thing ever blah blah blah, but this writing… THIS WRITING is purely magical, I can’t even express to you how incredible it is but I’m going to try. Laini writes in a way that just makes your heart feel so heavy in your chest with the weight of everything that is going on, and the way that the sentences are strung together creating some of my favorite quotes in the world. Like… gosh, just let me share some of it with you.“Sometimes a moment is so remarkable that it carves out a space in time and spins there, while the world rushes on around it.”This quote just gives me… SO many feelings?? This quote just hits me hard in so many ways and just makes me think about the small moments in life that we call remarkable and then brush aside and go on with our day. I do this a lot in life when something IS remarkable and I completely forget about it, but I realized I want to start appreciating the small moments in life because it should never be taken for granted.

    “You’re a storyteller. Dream up something wild and improbable. Something beautiful and full of monsters.”

    I think out of all the quotes this one means the absolute world to me and is such an inspiration for me. If you did not know I am writing my own book and I have been second guessing my writing and thinking is this ok? Does this make sense? But this quote came along and made me come to realize that what the heck! Who cares?? This is my story and I can dream up anything that I want.

    “It was impossible of course, but when did that stop any dreamer from dreaming.”

    Tying into the first quote, just because it might seem impossible go for it. If you can dream it, you can do it.

    “There was a man who loved the moon, but whenever he tried to embrace her, she broke into a thousand pieces and left him drenched, and empty arms.”

    When I came upon this line, tears filled my eyes and my heart felt so full and heavy and I don’t understand why? It has no underlying message or them but just… this sentence is just beautiful and makes me feel so many things. Like it just hit me really hard and I wanted to cry.

  • So wrapping up writing, Laini Taylor is amazing, her writing is so lyrical and thought-provoking I need more from her.
  • Stories. This book thrives on stories because well, the man character of this book is a storyteller and he tells a bunch of them obviously. But I think my favorite story that Lazo tells is the one with the god-making mist. The gist of this is that the mist rolls over you and makes you into any god that you want to be… basically, you decide your own fate and when they made their own imaginary cakes into anything that they wanted and I just loved that entire scene between him and Sarai and the stories. It was everything.
  • The world. Is so different and unique?? I mean the first half of this story takes place in a library and that is what I like. And it is a lost and forgotten city titled ‘Weep’ and Lazlo actually refers to it as the Unseen City because who wants to call it weep? The last half of the book takes place in the Unseen City and the Citadel which is floating over Weep. This world was developed so beautifully and everything was well thought out.
  • The characters. Let me tell you, these characters are SO incredible. Lazlo and Sarai being my favorites because well, they are the main characters. Lazlo is a cinnamon roll who just wants to be surrounded by his books at all times. Also spoiler alert but he broke his nose by having a book fall on his face, like my precious? Sarai who has the coolest power which I won’t spoil for you and my next favorite is Minya who is a smol very angry child and so many more.
  • I think I am going to wrap up this review because this is definitely something that you need to read without knowing anything about it. I will admit the writing might be a little slow, but that is because it is something that needs to be savored and loved and cherished. This story is so heart wrenching, like… purely heart wrenching, it’s beautiful, it is stunning and it made me sob… I think harder than any other book has, ever.

A page had turned. A new story was beginning. You only had to look at Lazlo to know it would be brilliant.

five-stars
Rating Report
Plot
five-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Worldbuilding
five-stars
Cover
five-stars
Overall: five-stars

EVERLESS BY SARAH HOLLAND

Posted January 6, 2018 by Jessica in Uncategorized / 0 Comments

EVERLESS BY SARAH HOLLANDEverless by Sara Holland
on January 1st 1970
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 368
Format: Hardcover, eARC
Goodreads
five-stars


Time is a prison. She is the key. Packed with danger, temptation and desire - a perfect read for fans of The Red Queen.

In the land of Sempera, the rich control everything - even time. Ever since the age of alchemy and sorcery, hours, days and years have been extracted from blood and bound to iron coins. The rich live for centuries; the poor bleed themselves dry.
Jules and her father are behind on their rent and low on hours. To stop him from draining himself to clear their debts, Jules takes a job at Everless, the grand estate of the cruel Gerling family.
There, Jules encounters danger and temptation in the guise of the Gerling heir, Roan, who is soon to be married. But the web of secrets at Everless stretches beyond her desire, and the truths Jules must uncover will change her life for ever ... and possibly the future of time itself.

NOTE: I was sent this as an arc for review. All thoughts and opinions are my own, thank you edelweiss for the galley.

This book as deceived me to the extreme maximum, I still cannot believe what happened…. Happened.


I’m just going to get right into this review and I promise I won’t spoil anything because this is a book that you need to go into blind and expect nothing from (or expect the best, I’m not stopping you) but this book surprised me in all of the best ways, I am seriously looking forward to the sequel.

But this is definitely one of the unique novels that I have ever read. The world, the magic system, the mythology— just everything about it was incredible. I’ll admit there were some slow points, but what made this story for me was the characters.

  • We have our main character Jules who is such a powerful heroine and you really feel for her hardships throughout the story.
  • We have Irina Gold who really surprised me with how much I liked her. I’m not saying too much about her because spoilers. But you’ll know what I mean when you meet her.
  • We have Roan who really brought light to the scenes he was in.
  • And my favorite? Liam. Broody as heck, beautiful, instant book boyfriend okay.

It was easy for me to connect to all of these characters in some form and I rooted for each of them throughout the story. Even Caro, the Queen’s handmaiden, I rooted for her too. The character growth for all of the characters who played a major part in the book was… okay, but it is the first book in a series so I’ll give it time on that.


The main thing I loved about this book was the absence of romance.

  • Yes, I guess there is some romance, depends on how you look at it.
  • Honestly, you’re going to need a magnifying glass to see the tiny ounce of romance this book has. But seriously? The romance is not there and it does not take over the plot and for once I really love that. Now I do feel like going into the second book there MIGHT be a romance, but I would be a-okay with who is probably going to get with who.

Okay so, in my opinion… there is a lot of world-building in this novel, and I know that isn’t something everyone enjoys so just that little bit of a warning. But for me? The world-building nailed it. I loved every single time they spoke about the blood irons and how Sempera came to be. I felt this was the BEST part of the story and how it ties in with the mythology and the story of the Alchemist and Sorceress (just wait okay you will live) and I can’t wait to see Sarah Holland expand the world even more in the next installment.


Now this was what surprised me the most, was that Sarah Holland is a debut author. Not that debut authors can’t write incredibly and mind you I read this as in arc I got back in September. I was truly surprised at how polished the writing was, and the grasp she has on the story and her characters. The writing flowed well, it was easy to follow… I mean I read this in a day if that tells you anything. I felt like I was right there seeing through Jules eyes the writing was that good.


Now… as I said in the beginning of this review, there is a plot point that I was deceived by and almost a month later I am still shaken by it. This was arguably the BEST PART of the book. Trust me, you will be shocked when you read this because this is something you won’t see coming.


This book is definitely something worth checking out, it is incredibly original and such a fun read, it honestly surprised me with how much I LOVED it. This book is now on my favorites shelf and I cannot wait to see what Holland has in store for us next!

five-stars
Rating Report
Plot
five-stars
Characters
four-half-stars
Writing
five-stars
Worldbuilding
four-half-stars
Cover
five-stars
Overall: five-stars

OUR DARK DUET BY V.E SCHWAB

Posted November 21, 2017 by Jessica in reviews, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

OUR DARK DUET BY V.E SCHWABOur Dark Duet (Monsters of Verity, #2) by Victoria Schwab
Published by Greenwillow Books on June 13th 2017
Genres: Dystopia/Fantasy
Pages: 510
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
five-stars

THE WORLD IS BREAKING. AND SO ARE THEY.
KATE HARKER isn't afraid of monsters. She hunts them. And she's good at it.
AUGUST FLYNN once yearned to be human. He has a part to play. And he will play it, no matter the cost.
THE WAR HAS BEGUN.
THE MONSTERS ARE WINNING.
Kate will have to return to Verity. August will have to let her back in. And a new monster is waiting—one that feeds on chaos and brings out its victims' inner demons.
Which will be harder to conquer: the monsters they face, or the monsters within?

This review is long overdo and I was debating on whether or not I should post this review, but I really loved this book so much and needed to share my feelings about it with everyone. This is the conclusion to the Monsters of Verity duology and my gosh V.E Schwab really knows how to wrap up a story and make your heart utterly broken. As always I am going to get into some of my thoughts about this down below and this review WILL be spoiler free.

  • Amazing: This is definitely one of the most beautiful sequels that I have ever read. As I said before, Schwab seriously knows how to end a story and fill you with heartache and dread and just make you feel a million things at once. While I am quite sad that this is the end of this duology I do not think I could ask for a better ending.
  • My cute cinnamon roll: August is my favorite, obviously. My small sinnamon roll who just really needs a hug. I really loved his character in this book and felt like he came a long way from how he was portrayed in the beginning of the duology. I mean the poor boy has been through a lot and he has learned a lot. In the previous book, he struggled with being a monster and yearned to be human. But I feel like in this book he began to accept himself which was just really lovely to see happen.
  • Badass female: There is no doubt that Kate is one of my favorite female characters. She is incredibly badass and inspiring. I feel like she went through a little character development in this book as well, I mean she is still the same Kate Harker we saw in the first book but at the same time… she is not. I don’t know how to really explain it but gosh she is amazing. Also that ending…
  • Writing: There is no doubt, that V.E Schwab is an incredible writer. She is without doubt one of the best writers out there in my opinion so obviously… you know. But in this book, she incorporated some poetry with a new… ish character and just UGH. I need her to actually write poetry now.
  • SO SAD: Okay, I knew it was going to be sad but I didn’t know it was going to be that sad. I am not going to go into depth about this but there IS a death and it was sad and that is all you are getting.

So honestly… this duology is just incredible and if you have not read anything by this author I really do think that this duology is where you should start off. I am sad it is over but also excited to see what she has planned for the future!

 

five-stars
Rating Report
Plot
five-stars
Characters
four-half-stars
Writing
five-stars
Worldbuilding
five-stars
Cover
five-stars
Overall: five-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2017 NEW RELEASES

A LIST OF CAGES BY ROBIN ROE

Posted November 14, 2017 by Jessica in reviews, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

This book contains themes of abuse, torture, slavery and racism.
A LIST OF CAGES BY ROBIN ROEA List of Cages by Robin Roe
Published by Disney-Hyperion on January 10th 2017
Genres: contemporary
Pages: 320
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
five-stars

When Adam Blake lands the best elective ever in his senior year, serving as an aide to the school psychologist, he thinks he’s got it made. Sure, it means a lot of sitting around, which isn’t easy for a guy with ADHD, but he can’t complain, since he gets to spend the period texting all his friends. Then the doctor asks him to track down the troubled freshman who keeps dodging her, and Adam discovers that the boy is Julian—the foster brother he hasn’t seen in five years.
Adam is ecstatic to be reunited. At first, Julian seems like the boy he once knew. He’s still kindhearted. He still writes stories and loves picture books meant for little kids. But as they spend more time together, Adam realizes that Julian is keeping secrets, like where he hides during the middle of the day, and what’s really going on inside his house. Adam is determined to help him, but his involvement could cost both boys their lives…

First off I want to say thank you to Emmaboooks for introducing this book into my life because I hadn’t even known it existed until she spoke about in a video. This book is the best book I have read this year, it is my number one favorite standalone book and number one book I have read this year, this book just means the world to me and I will forever hold it close to my heart. Gosh, I don’t even know how to formulate my thoughts for this book because it was so incredible so please don’t pay attention to my utter flailing and incoherent sentences.

Because people heal a whole lot faster when they’re with someone who loves them.

  • Adam and Julian’s friendship: I think this is my one of my favorite part of the book. You could tell that Julian really meant the world to Adam and that Adam was not just caring out him just to keep up his good guy persona, he really truly did care about Julian and you could definitely see that. You could tell that he really wanted to make sure Julian was safe.
  • Adam: There is no doubt that Adam was my favorite part of the book. I don’t really read a lot of contemporary novels but his character was incredibly refreshing to read. He was just so different than the characters I usually read and I loved it. Adam is one of those characters who are just so happy and loving, you just wish he was real and could be friends with him in real life. Adam also has ADHD which was super realistic.
  • Adam’s friends: Gosh, so many precious characters, my arms are full how in the world am I supposed to hold them all? This is such a precious little group of friends and I am not going to delve too deep here because that would give away some spoilers.
  • Endless tears: I read this in a matter of like four hours or less?  And I cried like 50 thousand times because this book was SO sad. I mean if I am being honest here I cry with every book I read so, not too difficult for a book to make me sob. But I cried those ugly cries you cry when no one is around. And damn those tears were worth it.
  • Medication??: A great fact about this book that I really liked was that Medication isn’t the cure-all for disabilities. This is going to get a little personal, but I cannot stand it when people are like “Oh you have a disability just go get some meds and you will feel better.” No! That is not how it works. I think people forget that not everyone has easy access to medications or can’t take it for personal or health reasons, and that medications just does not work for some people. I tried it and it made me feel absolutely horrible, I was not even myself. So it was just really nice to read that that if you don’t take medication than you deserve to suffer.

What is this book about: Honestly? This book is about kindness and friendship and how far a simple act of kindness can go. It is also about the fact that you NEVER EVER know what is going on in someone else’s life and you should always treat people as you would treat yourself.  One of the quotes that really stuck with me after reading this was:

‘Hate richochets, but kindness does too.’

This quote means the world to me and I think this is what I think of every day.  I do believe this book has changed me in some ways meaning that I want to do better, I want to be better for myself and everyone around me. Every time I feel like saying something mean or if I do say something mean, I instantly go back to this quote and remind myself. Hate spreads, I think we have seen enough of that this year but it would do all of us good to remember that one simple act of kindness could change someone’s entire life and you wouldn’t even know it. You can never know the effect that your kindness has on them it could be as far as making someone’s day or tremendously altering their life by giving them the courage to do something that they were afraid to do.

And REMEMBER, if you do a kind thing for someone,  people around you will follow suit. This is a lovely little thing called the bystander effect, people will follow suit.

See something do something: In regards to the previous paragraph, if you see something or suspect something is going on, FOR THE LOVE OF EVERYTHING DO NOT KEEP QUIET. I think that is the most important lesson in walking away from this book, do not walk away from it and think oh it will be okay they will speak up, someone will speak up. YOU speak up. If you see something? DO SOMETHING.

Lastly, I want to say thank you to Robin Roe for writing this book. This was not an easy read. It was raw and emotional and one of those books that just rips your heart into pieces.

“I’m dizzy, I’m here, I’m alive.”

QUESTION: What does it take for you to DNF a book? Or do you finish it no matter what?

For me if it feels like a major chore to read I DNF it, although I’m trying to do better at not DNF’ing. ✨
Today’s topic is favorite bookish family and I have to go with Adam and his Mom from A List of Cages. This book made me cry so many times, it is literally one of the best I have read this year and I highly suggest everyone read it!

#bookworm #booknerd #bookstagram #bookaddict #bookaddicted #bookgasm #booklove #booknerd #booknerdigan #booklover #bookaholic #bibliophile #igreads #yalit #bookdragon #bookobsessed #bookstagramfeatures #bookishfeatures
#octinbooks17

 

five-stars
Rating Report
Plot
five-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Cover
five-stars
Overall: five-stars

TOWER OF DAWN BY SARAH J MAAS

Posted November 14, 2017 by Jessica in reviews, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

TOWER OF DAWN BY SARAH J MAASTower of Dawn (Throne of Glass, #6) by Sarah J. Maas
on September 5th 2017
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 664
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
five-stars
three-flames

In the next installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, follow Chaol on his sweeping journey to a distant empire.
Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken.
His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica—the stronghold of the southern continent's mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them.
But what they discover in Antica will change them both—and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined.

I think that a lot of people were hesitant about this book, including myself. I was worried how she could handle Chaol’s disability and just well you know, everything in general but all my negative thoughts were wrong. This book really surprised me and I believe that this is the best book she has written. As like most of my reviews, the majority of this will be me gushing because I really loved everything about this book. And since I had nothing bad to say about this, I’m just gonna list all the reasons why I liked this. Geez that was a mouthful.

  • Chaol: I have always loved Chaol even during Queen of Shadows and this book just made me love him even MORE if that is possible. While not a TON happens in this book, the majority of it focuses on Chaol’s healing both physically, mentally and emotionally and it is the most beautiful journey of healing I have ever read.
  • Yrene: She was definitely NOT what I thought she was at all. Yrene is such a badass, I love her so much. She was so inspiring and I loved seeing her character growth.
  • Nesryn: I loved that we got her POV and see her side of things, I loved meeting her family and her journey to discover who she is and what she wants in life.

It was definitely really refreshing to only read a book in this series with as many POV’s as this one had. (mouthful I know) Unlike Sarah’s previous books in the series, this one only had three points of view. Chaol, Yrene and Nesryn and it just made the story much more enjoyable and it flowed really really well. Everything was cohesive and I was not struggling to figure out who was who or what their point is in the story. It felt a lot more relaxed and much more of a focus on the characters themselves.

I really hope everyone understood what I was trying to say there but to sum it all up I really liked the lesser point of views. This being said, I am sort of worried for the last book in this series with all of the point of views that are already IN the series and the four more she is going to add such as Yrene, Nesryn, and she was thinking about Nox and Evangeline which I really really do not hope she does because I feel like that would take away from the story. Like there is just no need for THAT many points of view.

ANYWAY I got a little off topic, but that is just one of the things that really bothered me moving forward.

  • I absolutely love Antica and all of the new characters that were introduced, but one of my favorite things was how she handled Chaol’s disability. I felt it was handled very well and. View Spoiler »
  • Another thing I loved was the romance which I never thought I would ever ship but yet here I am complete trash for it. The build-up was phenomenal and their love felt very organic.
  • I have to mention this, but chapter 55? WHEW. What an emotional ride. I don’t know if I am the only one, but that chapter really stood out to me on a personal level and really tied his entire character arc together.

So that sums up my thoughts for Tower of Dawn, it was a lot better than I had ever imagined it to be, and there are some reveals that just had me mindblown. Like WOW. Moving forward I am super excited yet nervous to see what is doing to happen in the last novel because it’s going to be an epic ending. (also pls SJM don’t include a bazillion unneeded point of views.) pLS.

five-stars
Rating Report
Plot
five-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Worldbuilding
five-stars
Cover
four-stars
Overall: five-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • FLIGHTS OF FANTASY 2017

GENTLEMEN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE BY MACKENZIE LEE

Posted November 3, 2017 by Jessica in reviews, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

GENTLEMEN’S GUIDE TO VICE AND VIRTUE BY MACKENZIE LEEThe Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue by Mackenzi Lee
Published by Katherine Tegen Books on June 27th 2017
Genres: Historical Fiction
Pages: 513
Format: Hardcover
Goodreads
five-stars

Henry “Monty” Montague was born and bred to be a gentleman, but he was never one to be tamed. The finest boarding schools in England and the constant disapproval of his father haven’t been able to curb any of his roguish passions—not for gambling halls, late nights spent with a bottle of spirits, or waking up in the arms of women or men.
But as Monty embarks on his Grand Tour of Europe, his quest for a life filled with pleasure and vice is in danger of coming to an end. Not only does his father expect him to take over the family’s estate upon his return, but Monty is also nursing an impossible crush on his best friend and traveling companion, Percy.
Still it isn’t in Monty’s nature to give up. Even with his younger sister, Felicity, in tow, he vows to make this yearlong escapade one last hedonistic hurrah and flirt with Percy from Paris to Rome. But when one of Monty’s reckless decisions turns their trip abroad into a harrowing manhunt that spans across Europe, it calls into question everything he knows, including his relationship with the boy he adores.

This is one of those books where I wonder, why did I wait forever to read this? Granted it just came out in July, but why did I wait so long? I have heard nothing but good things about this book from everyone I’ve seen who has read it. I found this to be such a unique historical fiction that is quite different from what I read. It was hilarious and there were SO many twists and turns and things that happened that took me COMPLETELY by surprise. I can now say that MacKenzie Lee is now one of my auto-buy authors because I really fell in love with her story telling.

So bear with me on this part because there was not one thing I disliked about this book.

Let’s get into some of the things I really enjoyed:

  • Monty: I absolutely loved Monty and thought that he was such a gem. My heart ached for him in some parts an in others my brain was just WHY MONTY, WHY DO YOU DO AND SAY THE THINGS YOU DO. Nothing he did changed my opinion about him though, I still love him and think he is a gem, Monty is also bisexual but such a pain in the arse but he is also adorable.
  • Percy: Monty’s biracial BFF and an ABSOLUTE GEM. I loved Percy and really felt for him in some parts (no spoilers but if you have read this then you know) He was such a delight to read.
  • Felicity: This bada** QUEEN. I really loved Felicity’s relationship with her brother and just how incredible she is in general.
  • The authors writing is so addictive and easy to follow. It flows really really well and I have to say I’ve never read a writing style quite like this. As I said, so addictive and fun. I need to read everything she has written.
  • The dialogue is possibly the best part of this book. So many amazing lines that I will remember forever, such as “Fetch me a couch, for I nearly swoon.” Me too Monty, me too. I connect so much with that sentence I feel like there should be couches everywhere in case people swoon in public. The dialogue ALSO flowed really well because usually you’ll get books with dialogue that just feels stale and does not mesh well at all.
  • The plot was SUCH a fun and enjoyable ride. There were so many twists and turns and the plot when in some unexpected ways that I did not expect it to go what so ever but that is okay! Because I really don’t mind when books do that.
  • It was fast paced. Like seriously? This is a book that you can read in one sitting because everything just sucks you in and does not let go of you until you are finished.
  • Another thing I really enjoyed was how accurate it was to the time frame that it occurred in. Everything was so realistic you can tell the author did her research.

However I will say it was quite frustrating whenever something cute was going to happen between Monty and Percy, Monty would say something or something would happen and it would be all for naught. Like why, WHY DO AUTHORS DO THIS TO US.

So that’s it for this relatively short review. It was full of gushiness because I seriously loved everything about this book and these characters will definitely stay with me forever.

five-stars
Rating Report
Plot
four-half-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Worldbuilding
five-stars
Cover
five-stars
Overall: five-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2017 NEW RELEASES

THE GLASS SPARE BY LAUREN DESTEFANO

Posted October 29, 2017 by Jessica in reviews, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

I received this book for free from Edelwiess in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

THE GLASS SPARE BY LAUREN DESTEFANOThe Glass Spare (The Glass Spare, #1) by Lauren DeStefano
Published by Balzer + Bray on October 24th 2017
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 402
Format: eARC, Hardcover
Goodreads
five-stars

A banished princess.A deadly curse.A kingdom at war.
Wil Heidle, the only daughter of the king of the world’s wealthiest nation, has grown up in the shadows. Kept hidden from the world in order to serve as a spy for her father—whose obsession with building his empire is causing a war—Wil wants nothing more than to explore the world beyond her kingdom, if only her father would give her the chance.
Until one night Wil is attacked, and she discovers a dangerous secret. Her touch turns people into gemstone. At first Wil is horrified—but as she tests its limits, she’s drawn more and more to the strange and volatile ability. When it leads to tragedy, Wil is forced to face the destructive power within her and finally leave her home to seek the truth and a cure.
But finding the key to her redemption puts her in the path of a cursed prince who has his own ideas for what to do with her power.
With a world on the brink of war and a power of ultimate destruction, can Wil find a way to help the kingdom that’s turned its back on her, or will she betray her past and her family forever?

Initially, I thought this was going to be a three-star book because it did not wow me at first. Then as I continued, I thought okay this is going be four stars. I have now rounded it up to five stars because this book really surprised me and I am bitter I have to wait a year for the next one. This is an eGALLEY provided by edelwiess and all thoughts and opinions are my own, so thank you edelwiess.

As I said before this book really surprised me and was not what I thought it was going to be. It is one of those books that you think “Oh my gosh, please don’t happen, please don’t happen.” And it happens. This is such a pure fantasy book and has all of those plot developments and a few cliche’s that I personally enjoy. I will say the book was a LITTLE bit of a drag in the beginning but that could be because I was reading it on my phone and I finally bought the finished copy and I could not put it down.

THINGS I LIKED

  • The characters. To me, this was the BEST part of the entire story. I got a sense that this was a character driven story and I really fell in love with all of the characters introduced View Spoiler ».
  • The main character Wil, whose point of view the story is mostly told in… she is now one of my favorite female characters. I thought she was bada** and just you know, amazing.
  • I loved her brother Gerdie and I am kind of sad that we didn’t get more of his POV, but I’ll be looking forward to that when the next book comes out (hopefully we get more of him)
  • The banished Prince, I have a thing for princes and he is certainly no exception. Read it for yourself and see.
  • The writing is so easy to follow and definitely not very wordy (I can’t stand wordy fantasy books sometimes, it gets too much) the writing pulls you in and keeps your attention.
  • The plot? This author sure knows how to get things going and even though I felt that this book was a set up for something big (like events possibly to happen in the next book) it was still pretty cool how everything developed.
  • There are so many unanswered questions that just fuels my anticipation for the next book.
  • Also, how about an A+ for worldbuilding?? Everything was explained and just sounded really incredible and I actually was not confused.

Now for some things that bothered me.

  • Just one little tiny issue that just bothered me and MAY be slight spoilers. But the way the romance happened was a little frustrating (even if I really liked it) and some things I wanted to happen did NOT happen and I sincerely hope that they do.

So that’s it for this review. I definitely did not expect to love this as much as I do and I seriously cannot wait for the next book to come out!

Photo Oct 29, 1 22 49 PM.jpg

 

five-stars
Rating Report
Plot
four-half-stars
Characters
five-stars
Writing
five-stars
Worldbuilding
five-stars
Cover
four-half-stars
Overall: five-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • FLIGHTS OF FANTASY 2017

AN ENCHANTMENT OF RAVENS BY MARGARET ROGERSON

Posted October 10, 2017 by Jessica in reviews, Uncategorized / 0 Comments

AN ENCHANTMENT OF RAVENS BY MARGARET ROGERSONAn Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson
Published by Margaret K. McElderry Books on September 26th 2017
Genres: Fantasy
Pages: 300
Goodreads
one-star

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel’s paintings are highly prized among them. But when she receives her first royal patron—Rook, the autumn prince—she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes – a weakness that could cost him his life.
Furious and devastated, Rook spirits her away to the autumnlands to stand trial for her crime. Waylaid by the Wild Hunt’s ghostly hounds, the tainted influence of the Alder King, and hideous monsters risen from barrow mounds, Isobel and Rook depend on one another for survival. Their alliance blossoms into trust, then love, violating the fair folks’ ruthless Good Law. There's only one way to save both their lives, Isobel must drink from the Green Well, whose water will transform her into a fair one—at the cost of her Craft, for immortality is as stagnant as it is timeless.
Isobel has a choice: she can sacrifice her art for a future, or arm herself with paint and canvas against the ancient power of the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

Goodness, where do I even begin with this review?

This book was not at all what I expected and I don’t mean that in a good way. I struggled so hard trying to read this book because no matter how hard I tried to make myself pick it up it felt like a chore. I mean there are just… times, when you can tell this, is truly the first book an author has written. I apologize if this review seems kind of harsh but I’m not going to hold back on my feelings for this book. I also did my best to not DNF this book because it was so short and I wanted to find out if it would get better in the end and well… let’s just get into it.

LIKES

  • I liked how the fae were depicted in this book. I thought it was interesting and kind of reminded me of Holly Black’s ‘Darkest Part of the Forest’
  • I also liked Rook.
  • Sadly, this is really the only two things I liked about this book.

DISLIKES

  • The writing. I was not a fan of the writing and I thought it felt out of place for a fantasy novel. I thought that it was quite modern like and just ugh it did not mesh well with the story itself.
  • Also speaking of the writing, it was not that good either. It felt kind of juvenile and not what I’d expect from a fantasy book or the caliber of what everyone is suggesting.
  • Also… did everyone rating this read a different book than I did? I seriously don’t understand how this book is the best book of the year, like… I know we all have our different tastes, but I DO NOT UNDERSTAND.
  • Let’s talk about the characters. Isobel oh Isobel, the most boring main character I could have ever laid eyes on. I like that she’s a great painter because as an artist myself it just makes me happy. Other than that? Good lord, I could not care for her. I did not feel sorry for her, I just could not CARE FOR HER.
  • All the other characters: with the exception of Rook and Gadfly, everyone else was boring and I could not care for them either.
  • The storyline in it’s entirety? What was the damn point of it all? I mean perhaps if this was a longer book or expanded into a series and things were not rushed, it could have enjoyed it better.

At least the cover is beautiful.

NOW FOR SPOILERS, beware and enter at your own peril for this section will be me just ranting.

So we start off with Isobel who is a master of craft/painting and the fairies all admire her craft, especially Gadfly who is a patron of hers who really loves her work (I mean he has a room of portraits of himself he sleeps in once a month to stare at like what even) He tells her that the autumn prince is rumored to come to her for a portrait and lo and behold he does and it’s magical. She’s so overtaken by his beauty and oh my god guess what? She’s in love with him (or thinks she is) The book was good until this point and this is where it goes downhill.

Isobel accidentally paints mortal sorrow in his eyes and this could cost him his life. So he whisks her way to the autumn lands to stand trial for her crimes. The girl paints his eyes more humanlike or whatever in the world she does and honestly? It does not cost him his life, it just lowers his reputation and he gets pissed off about it and wants her to amend for her crimes. Which is ya know… okay, I get it. But midway through the damn book, he changes her mind and decides to take her home. Why? Who in the world knows.

This is where the love story comes in, and probably the reason why he changed his mind, but I don’t know and I could care less. This was instalove to the max and usually, I am okay with instalove. But this was SO forced and so not genuine, and it was just so…cringey! I guess he fell in love with her during the first part of the book and she realized she loved him and I have no idea if you read this, you understand what I mean.

The last half of the book was a whirlwind mess. All faes have to abide by the good law which I still don’t understand what the good law even is and why it is called that. And this is where we meet the Alder King which is my biggest disappointment of this book. During the whole book he was described as this impressive creature who reigns over everything and is super deadly and blah blah blah, but Rook challenges him and I was like oh my god cool there’s going to be a fight!

The Alder King is this super old Fae who has been asleep for a long time and doesn’t even know what is happening and he thinks the fae’s obsession with human craft is pathetic but also, a human has destroyed the green well which turns humans into fae (isobel does this throwing her iron ring into it) and the good law was broken so gotta fight! As I stated before, I expected a great and bloody fight between Rook and the Alder king and did that happen?

No.

ROOK FREAKING RUNS AWAY AND TAKES ISOBEL BACK HOME, BRINGING THE ALDER KING TO HER DAMNED HOME. LIKE HOW STUPID DO YOU HAVE TO BE?! Long story short, she ends up killing the Alder King in the dumbest way ever and she and Rook become King and Queen of the fae lands.

There was SO MUCH DRAMA toward the end of the book, all because Rook and Isobel fell in love.

Rant over.

This book was just such a mess and I really would not recommend it to anyone.

one-star
Rating Report
Plot
one-half-stars
Characters
two-stars
Writing
one-star
Worldbuilding
one-star
Cover
five-stars
Overall: two-stars

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • FLIGHTS OF FANTASY 2017
  • WILD GOOSE CHASE CHALLENGE